

FLORIDA BAR NEWS

Rosalyn Sia Baker-Barnes Becomes Bar President-Elect Designate

Dec 18, 2023 By Mark D. Killian Editor

Board of Governors races set for the 13th and 17th circuits — 22 others elected without opposition

Rosalyn Sia Baker-Barnes of West Palm Beach, a veteran Board of Governors member and shareholder at Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley, has become president-elect designate of The Florida Bar after being elected without opposition.

"I am proud to serve my fellow Bar members and deeply appreciate the support of my friends and colleagues who have joined me on this journey of servant leadership," Baker-Barnes said after filing for the board races closed on December 15. "Whether it is through my 20 years of involvement in our voluntary bars statewide and community organizations, giving back and mentoring lawyers and future leaders, my unwavering commitment remains focused on supporting others and our great profession."

Baker-Barnes is a board-certified civil trial lawyer and was the 95th president of Palm Beach County Bar Association. She is also a long-time mentor to lawyers, law students, and aspiring lawyers.

Four candidates are running in two contested races for the Board of Governors in March 2024 while 22 lawyers have been elected without opposition, including three newcomers and one former member who is re-joining the board.

One contested election is to fill a 17th Circuit vacancy after board member Jay Kim declined to seek another term. Jon Polenberg and Alison F. Smith, both of Ft. Lauderdale, will vie for Seat 1 in the 17th Circuit. In the 13th Circuit, incumbent Paige A. Greenlee is being challenged by Michael J. Trentalange for Seat 4. Both Greenlee and Trentalange are from Tampa.

Elected to the Board of Governors without opposition are:

- **Jeremy Branning,** First Circuit, Seat 1.
- Melissa VanSickle, Second Circuit, Seat 2.
- Kris B. Robinson, Third Circuit, Seat 1.
- Michael Fox Orr, Fourth Circuit, Seat 1.
- Joshua T. Chilson, Sixth Circuit, Seat 1.
- Philip J. Bonamo, Seventh Circuit, Seat 1.
- Frank Bedell, Ninth Circuit, Seat 1.
- Tad Allen Yates, Ninth Circuit, Seat 3.
- Victor R. Smith, 10th Circuit, Seat 1.
- Karl Klein, 11th Circuit, Seat 1.
- Jordan A. Dresnick, 11th Circuit, Seat 3.
- **Jeffrey Rynor**, 11th Circuit, Seat 5.
- Alice K. Sum, 11th Circuit, Seat 7.
- John A. Schifino, 13th Circuit, Seat 1.
- Theodore Howell, 14th Circuit, Seat 1.
- Grasford Smith, 15th Circuit, Seat 1.
- Robin I. Bresky, 15th Circuit, Seat 3.
- Hilary Creary, 17th Circuit, Seat 4.
- James G. Vickaryous, 18th Circuit, Seat 1.
- John Agnew, 20th Circuit, Seat 1.
- Donald A. Workman, Out-of-State, Seat 2.
- Brian D. Burgoon, Out-of-State, Seat 4.

The new board members include Frank Bedell, a former Young Lawyers Division president, who is replacing retiring member Thomas Wert in the Ninth Circuit; Theodore Howell who is replacing Clifford C. Higby in the 14th Circuit; and Grasford Smith, who fills the 15th Circuit vacancy created by the ascension of Baker-Barnes to the office of president-elect designate.

Former board member John Agnew is rejoining the board replacing Laird Lile, who stepped down from his 20th Circuit seat. Agnew's old 20th Circuit seat was eliminated a year ago when reapportionment required moving a seat for the 20th Circuit to the 11th Circuit.

For the contested races, election ballots will be emailed on or before March 1.

Five-hundred-word platform statements from the candidates in contested races will be published in the February Bar *News*.